Work Queue Query

Radhika734

Hi All,

I am absolute beginner to RPA/Blue Prism.
I need a clarification on Work Queue section.

When I gone through the main objective of Work Queue,
I found that when we are dealing with a bunch of data, then we
need to use Work Queue.
I did a dummy exercise on this, both by using WQ & without using WQ(Directly reading from excel file)

But in WQ also, the BOT is reading values ONE BY ONE from WQ only, same as like from excel.
So my confusion is if WQ is also taking the same time to process the data.
Then what's the purpose of using WQ (I agree that it provides some more information/status about current Item ID)

Does it help in any way in TIME CONSUMPTION.

Please correct me, if I am wrong & let me know, how it's beneficial?

Thank You All.

Manikanta

Hi Team,
Can anyone please help me this Work Queue concept?
Hi @Radhika734
Almost every Blue Prism Process will make use of a work queue, which is essentially a list of jobs, or cases. New cases can be fed into the queue, and the queue can be updated with results as each case is worked.
A work queue provides the following features:
  • Multiple machines can work from the same queue at the same time, each retrieving different cases to work.
  • An individual case can be marked as “complete” if it has been worked satisfactorily, or marked as an “exception”, if it could not be completed.
  • Queued work can be monitored and maintained from Control Room.
  • MI such as volumes, performance levels, and exception details can be extracted from queue data.
A Blue Prism Process is intended to obey instruction to do a repetitive task. That instruction could be some kind of list feeding the Process with work, for example a spreadsheet. Alternatively, a Process might be designed to wait for work to appear on an ad hoc basis, for example files appearing in a folder.