Excel handle changes at run time

Charles Swart

Hi

I am very new to Blue Prism so excuse me if I ask a silly question. I am doing a lot of Excel manipulation eg. refreshing sheets, cutting and pasting between sheets etc. At one stage I need to sort my results sheet. Instead of simulating the key strokes, I thought it would be more efficient to execute a macro. I wrote the macro and it runs fine when I execute it manually. However executing the process it fails with a message that the macro can not be found. I have figured out that the problem is that the name\handle of my workbook. Instead of just having Test.xlsx the title bar of the workbook, it now contains Test.xlsx - (something that looks like a mac address)

I would appreciate any ideas of how I can resolve this issue

cs.andras

Hi,
Have you enabled Macros in your Excel Instance? I think it is called "enable events" in the Inputs. Also... look around on the forum, I think a similar question was already asked: how to run a macro from another file... or something like that.

RPA_1

Try not using two different excel vbo . I mean the one which Bp provides and the customer created one which you have made (if it's saved differently) as a different vbo. Also, are you using multiple create instance action in your process ? If yes, then try just using one for all the excels with which you want to interact with

Charles Swart

Thanks for the suggestions. I only use one Excel VBO and I only create instance of the the application. Macros are enabled, as a matter of fact I execute another Macro to do filtering on the same sheet a few steps earlier in the process. It seems that Blue Prism somehow creates another instance the worksheet and appends the mac address to the workbook name.

Guess I will now have to send keystrokes to do the sorting.

RPA_1